Accuracy note: Cambridge's programme is still developing. Confirm entries, permitted devices, access arrangements and exam-day rules through current Cambridge communications. Predictions in this guide are labelled and are not Cambridge announcements.
1. What are Cambridge digital exams?
Digital exams are formal examinations delivered through a secure computer platform rather than a printed question paper. Candidates select objective answers on screen and type shorter or extended responses into response areas. Resources can be displayed beside the response area, while tools such as flagging, highlighting, notes and zoom support navigation.
Cambridge describes its approach as education-led and learner-focused. The goal is not simply to reproduce paper on a screen. Digital delivery can improve accessibility, make multimedia controllable by the candidate and eventually allow assessment of skills that can only be demonstrated digitally. Cambridge also states that the first digital exams are intended to retain the rigour, validity and reliability of paper examinations.
The programme reflects a wider international move toward computer-based testing, but Cambridge is taking a phased approach because schools vary substantially in infrastructure, connectivity, staff confidence and learner readiness.
Learner-focused
Display controls, review tools and a more flexible on-screen experience.
Standards-led
Qualification validity and reliability remain central.
Phased rollout
Schools receive mocks, readiness exercises, training and guidance before live delivery.
2. Cambridge initiative, timeline and subject rollout
Cambridge launched its Digital Mocks Service in 2023 and its Early Adopter Programme in 2024. Selected EAP centres have worked with Cambridge on readiness and feedback and are the first schools scheduled for live digital examinations in June 2026. Cambridge says worldwide availability starts from June 2027 onward.
| Year | Published milestone |
|---|---|
| 2023 | Cambridge launched digital mocks in three subjects. Cambridge reports 585 tests across 10 centres in eight countries in the first stage. |
| 2024 | The Early Adopter Programme (EAP) began. Selected schools started readiness work and provided feedback on delivery and the candidate experience. |
| June 2026 | Selected EAP schools become the first centres to sit live digital exams in the initial IGCSE and AS Level subjects. |
| June 2027 onward | Cambridge plans worldwide availability to begin, with First Language English and English as a Second Language joining the IGCSE roadmap. |
| 2028-2030 | The published roadmap expands into languages, Global Perspectives, Computer Science, Business, Psychology and other qualifications. |
| By 2033 | Cambridge's stated ambition is for 85% of its exams to be offered in both digital and paper-based formats. This is an ambition, not a promise that every syllabus will be digital. |
Initial Cambridge IGCSE subjects
| Subject | Code | Status | Published scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accounting | 0452 | 2026 EAP | Listed by Cambridge as a live digital IGCSE subject for EAP centres. |
| Economics | 0455 | Component 1 in 2026 EAP | Only component 1 is listed initially; the full qualification is planned for 2030. |
| Biology | 0610 | 2026 EAP | Listed by Cambridge for the first live digital IGCSE rollout. |
| Chemistry | 0620 | 2026 EAP | Listed by Cambridge for the first live digital IGCSE rollout. |
| Physics | 0625 | 2026 EAP | Listed by Cambridge for the first live digital IGCSE rollout. |
The later public roadmap lists First Language English 0500 and English as a Second Language 0510 for 2027; Global Perspectives 0457, English as a Second Language 0511 and Spanish listening components for 2028; Computer Science 0265 and selected languages for 2029; and Business 0264, full Economics 0455, Psychology 0266 and English Literature 0475 for 2030.
Subjects not named on the roadmap remain paper-based unless Cambridge issues a separate announcement. A roadmap can also change, so schools should use it for planning rather than treating it as an irrevocable timetable.
3. Mathematics and Further Mathematics
| Qualification | Code | Current published status |
|---|---|---|
| IGCSE Mathematics | 0580 | Not on Cambridge's currently published digital-exam roadmap. |
| International Mathematics | 0607 | Not on the currently published roadmap. |
| Additional Mathematics | 0606 | Not on the currently published roadmap. |
| AS & A Level Mathematics | 9709 | Not on the currently published roadmap. |
| AS & A Level Further Mathematics | 9231 | Not on the currently published roadmap. |
Mathematics presents special design challenges. A valid examination must capture algebraic method, exact notation, diagrams, graph construction, proofs and intermediate working without turning equation-entry skill into an unintended assessment objective. It must also allow markers to award method marks efficiently.
Future possibilities include better equation editors, stylus input, interactive graph tools and hybrid components. These are reasonable educational-technology possibilities, but Cambridge has not announced digital launch dates for the five mathematics qualifications above.
4. Technology, infrastructure and exam security
Cambridge identifies RM Assessment Master as the invigilator and test-delivery platform. Windows and Mac devices use Safe Exam Browser; managed Chromebooks use Google kiosk mode. Candidates receive unique credentials, and lockdown controls restrict other software and websites during live examinations.
| Platform or equipment | Cambridge's published minimum or requirement |
|---|---|
| Windows | Windows 10 or 11; Intel i3 or equivalent; 4 GB RAM. |
| Mac | macOS 13 or 14; Intel i3 or equivalent; 4 GB RAM. |
| Chromebook | Managed Chromebook only; latest OS, quad-core processor and 4 GB RAM; suitable licence for Google kiosk mode. |
| Peripherals | Keyboard and mouse, trackpad or trackpoint. Headphones are required for listening components. |
| Exam software | Safe Exam Browser on Windows/Mac, or Google kiosk mode on managed Chromebooks. |
Secure delivery workflow
Cambridge says offline resilience is planned for the worldwide launch in 2027: if connectivity drops, the exam continues, and saved responses upload after the connection returns. The public guidance does not disclose encryption algorithms or detailed cybersecurity architecture. Schools should therefore rely on Cambridge's controlled systems and current technical guidance rather than inventing local security assumptions.
School readiness checklist
- Run Cambridge's device and bandwidth checks
- Install and test the correct lockdown method
- Provide spare devices, chargers and headphones
- Test candidate and invigilator credentials
- Document network and power contingencies
- Train technical staff and invigilators
- Maintain Cambridge Handbook seating and supervision
- Prevent updates, notifications and sleep settings during exams
5. Candidate experience and interface
- 1The candidate enters the supervised room and sits at an assigned, checked device.
- 2The invigilator starts the delivery session and provides the correct exam credentials.
- 3The candidate enters the series username and exam-specific password.
- 4Instructions and question navigation appear in the assessment platform.
- 5The candidate selects MCQ responses or types answers. Resources can appear alongside response areas.
- 6The candidate can flag questions, review responses, use permitted display and annotation tools, and monitor progress.
- 7Responses save automatically. At the end, the candidate reviews and submits only when instructed.
Published accessibility features include background colours, zoom, adjustable line height, adjustable font size for essay responses, volume controls, closed captions and transcripts for multimedia. Extra time and rest breaks remain subject to approved access arrangements. Invigilators can pause and resume the clock for approved rest breaks.
Screen-reading and text-to-speech capabilities are under development for future series, so centres must not assume they are currently available for every candidate or component.
6. Marking, grading and comparability
Digital delivery does not mean every response is marked by a machine. Objective formats can be auto-marked where appropriate, while essays, explanations and other constructed responses require human judgement. Cambridge's mock service already combines auto-marked MCQs with Cambridge-marked non-MCQ papers.
Cambridge states that digital exams will maintain the same rigour, validity and reliability as paper-based exams. The mode of delivery must not create a separate, easier qualification. Awarding and grade-boundary decisions still need evidence about paper difficulty and candidate performance. Schools should therefore expect qualification standards, not device type, to drive grades.
| Feature | Paper examination | Digital examination |
|---|---|---|
| Response method | Handwriting and printed answer spaces. | On-screen selection and typed responses; Cambridge says no handwriting is required for these digital papers. |
| Navigation | Turn pages and use a paper question booklet. | Navigation controls, question flagging, review and on-screen resources. |
| Tools | Physical stationery and permitted equipment. | Notepad, highlighter, zoom and accessibility controls; subject rules still apply. |
| Security | Sealed papers, secure storage and physical invigilation. | Lockdown mode plus centre invigilation and platform monitoring. |
| Connectivity | Not dependent on an exam internet connection. | Cambridge plans offline resilience for the worldwide launch from 2027. |
| Marking | Human marking, with established Cambridge quality processes. | A mixture of auto-marking where suitable and human marking for constructed responses. |
| Access | Modified papers and approved access arrangements. | Display controls and approved extra time/rest breaks; screen reader and text-to-speech support are still under development. |
| Administration | Printing, secure transport and script handling. | Device preparation, software checks, candidate credentials and technical contingency planning. |
7. Cambridge Digital Mocks Service
Cambridge reports that more than 45,000 digital mock exams have been sat across 18 subjects in 66 countries since 2023. The service uses past-paper content to mirror final-exam style and help schools test readiness in a low-stakes setting.
Schools select a seven-day assessment window. Candidates use unique credentials, and results are returned through My Cambridge. Cambridge says auto-marked results can be available within two hours and examiner-marked results within 14 days. Reports are available in CSV and PDF formats.
Best use of mocks
- Rehearse room setup and logins.
- Identify typing and navigation difficulties.
- Test technical escalation procedures.
- Use question-level reports to target revision.
Do not treat a mock as
- A guarantee that live-exam rules will never change.
- A substitute for official device checks.
- Evidence that every subject is launching digitally.
- A reason to neglect paper preparation where paper remains offered.
8. Guidance for students, teachers and schools
For students
- Practise on the actual demonstration or mock interface.
- Learn flagging, review, zoom and notepad tools before exam day.
- Practise accurate typing without over-editing.
- Keep a time checkpoint for each section.
- Review unanswered and flagged questions before submission.
- Take screen breaks during normal revision, not during timed exam practice.
For schools
- Assign clear ownership across exams, IT and senior leadership teams.
- Maintain a tested device inventory and spares ratio.
- Train staff using realistic failure scenarios.
- Run at least one full-room mock under exam conditions.
- Check approved access arrangements in the digital platform.
- Communicate what changes and what remains identical to paper exams.
Advantages and realistic limitations
Potential benefits include quicker mock feedback, less paper handling, improved display controls, easier answer revision and future opportunities for multimedia or interactive assessment. Digital delivery can also reduce some printing and transport, although device manufacture, electricity and data infrastructure still have environmental costs.
Risks include equipment failure, connectivity problems, screen fatigue, unequal typing confidence, software misconfiguration and insufficient staff training. The strongest mitigation is not a single technical feature: it is repeated rehearsal, standardised devices, spare capacity, offline resilience, clear invigilation and a documented contingency process.
9. What might happen after 2030?
Cambridge has confirmed a phased roadmap and an 85% dual-format ambition by 2033. Beyond that, adaptive testing, AI-assisted marking support, simulations and digital practical tasks are plausible developments across international assessment, but they are not confirmed Cambridge IGCSE policies.
Any future use of AI would require strong human oversight, bias evaluation, explainability, data protection and evidence that outcomes remain comparable. Adaptive assessment would also be a major qualification-design change, not merely a software update. The most credible near-term direction is gradual expansion of secure on-screen papers and carefully designed tasks that take advantage of digital media.
10. Frequently asked questions
1. Are Cambridge IGCSE digital exams already available to every school?
No. The first live exams in June 2026 are for selected Early Adopter Programme schools. Cambridge says worldwide availability will begin from June 2027 onward.
2. Which IGCSE subjects launch first?
Cambridge lists Accounting 0452, Economics 0455 component 1, Biology 0610, Chemistry 0620 and Physics 0625 for the 2026 EAP.
3. Will paper exams disappear in 2026?
No. Cambridge describes a phased transition and aims to offer digital and paper options for most exams rather than immediately replacing paper.
4. What is Cambridge's 2033 target?
Cambridge's ambition is that 85% of its exams will be offered in both digital and paper-based formats by 2033.
5. Is Mathematics 0580 becoming digital in 2026?
No published Cambridge roadmap currently lists Mathematics 0580 for 2026 or the later years shown through 2030.
6. What about Additional Mathematics 0606?
It is not listed on the current public roadmap. Schools should not assume a launch date until Cambridge announces one.
7. Will AS & A Level Mathematics 9709 be digital?
Cambridge has not placed 9709 on its currently published roadmap. Future digitisation is possible, but no official date is available.
8. Why is mathematics difficult to digitise?
Candidates need efficient ways to enter multi-line algebra, diagrams, graphs, proofs and working. Any digital design must preserve method marks and avoid testing typing or equation-editor skill instead of mathematics.
9. Which platform delivers the exams?
Cambridge identifies RM Assessment Master as its invigilator and test-delivery platform.
10. What is Safe Exam Browser?
It is lockdown software used to restrict access to other applications and websites while a live digital exam is running.
11. Can candidates open other websites?
Cambridge says live digital exams will prevent candidates from navigating away to other software, with many device functions made inaccessible.
12. Do candidates receive login details?
Yes. Cambridge says a candidate uses one username through the series and a different password for each entered exam.
13. What happens if the internet fails?
For the global launch in 2027, Cambridge says offline resilience will keep the exam running and save responses for upload when connectivity returns.
14. Are answers saved automatically?
Yes. Cambridge says responses are automatically saved on the platform.
15. Can students bring their own laptop?
Cambridge says candidates may use any device meeting the minimum requirements with the suitable lockdown method applied. Schools remain responsible for readiness and secure administration.
16. Are tablets and phones supported?
Cambridge's published requirements specify Windows or Mac laptops/desktops and managed Chromebooks, not phones or general-purpose tablets.
17. What Windows specification is required?
Cambridge currently states Windows 10 or 11, an Intel i3 or equivalent processor, and 4 GB RAM.
18. What Mac specification is required?
Cambridge currently states macOS 13 or 14, an Intel i3 or equivalent processor, and 4 GB RAM.
19. Can ordinary personal Chromebooks be used?
Only managed Chromebooks with the correct licence and Google kiosk mode are listed as supported.
20. Is a mouse required?
Cambridge requires a keyboard and either a mouse, trackpad or trackpoint. Listening exams also require headphones.
21. Does Cambridge publish a minimum bandwidth?
Its public support page refers schools to device and bandwidth checkers but does not state one universal bandwidth figure. Centres should use Cambridge's current readiness tools.
22. Does Cambridge publish a battery-duration rule?
The public page reviewed for this guide does not give a fixed battery threshold. Schools should provide reliable power and a charging contingency rather than relying on battery life.
23. Who invigilates a digital exam?
The registered centre conducts invigilation using the delivery platform alongside Cambridge's standard invigilation practices.
24. Can invigilators monitor progress?
Yes. Cambridge says invigilators receive platform access and guidance to monitor candidate progress and exam status.
25. Is extra time supported?
Yes, subject to the normal application and approval process. The platform can also support rest breaks.
26. Can the exam clock be paused for a rest break?
Yes. Cambridge says an invigilator can pause and resume an exam for an approved rest break.
27. Are screen readers available?
Cambridge states that screen-reading and text-to-speech features are under development for future series.
28. Are digital exams easier than paper exams?
They are intended to assess the same qualification standard. Familiarity with the interface may affect confidence, which is why demonstrations and mocks matter.
29. Will digital candidates receive different grades?
Cambridge says digital exams will have the same rigour, validity and reliability as paper exams. It has not announced a separate easier or harder grading scale.
30. Are all responses automatically marked?
No. Objective questions can be auto-marked, while extended and other constructed responses require Cambridge marking. The Digital Mocks Service already uses both approaches.
31. What is the Digital Mocks Service?
It is a low-stakes, digital delivery of past-paper-style assessments designed to familiarise candidates and test centre readiness.
32. How many digital mocks have been taken?
Cambridge reports more than 45,000 Cambridge IGCSE and International AS & A Level digital mock exams across 18 subjects in 66 countries since the service launched in 2023.
33. How quickly are mock results returned?
Cambridge says auto-marked mock results can be available within two hours, while examiner-marked results are provided within 14 days.
34. How should a student prepare?
Use Cambridge demonstration tests or mocks, practise typing under timed conditions, learn the flag/review tools, and rehearse the complete login-to-submission process.
35. How should a school prepare?
Audit devices, run the official readiness and bandwidth checks, train invigilators, test candidate accounts, run mocks, prepare spare equipment and document technical escalation procedures.
Conclusion
Students should know that Cambridge digital exams are real but still in a controlled rollout. Five IGCSE subjects form the 2026 Early Adopter Programme, wider availability begins from 2027, and paper remains central during the transition. Mathematics is not on the current public roadmap.
Schools should prioritise readiness rather than speculation: official device checks, secure delivery software, trained invigilators, mocks, accessibility planning and robust technical contingencies. The long-term shift is significant, but Cambridge's published approach is deliberately gradual and evidence-led.
Official sources
Facts were checked against Cambridge International pages available on 15 June 2026.
